Jazz


Welcome to the jazz department !

Founded in 1988, this departement is the only school for jazz within the Federation Wallonia-Brussels which offers Bachelor (3 years) and Masters (2 year) qualifications in jazz. Over the years, the faculty has included eminent figures in the Belgian and international jazz world, such as Bruno Castellucci, Steve Houben, Paolo Radoni, Charles Loos, Guy Cabay or Jean-Louis Rassinfosse, and the department continues to be proud of the remarkable personalities who make up the team.

The twenty-one teachers who work in the department are all active in different artistic projects in Belgium and abroad, where they are active as soloists as well as accompanists, arrangers, composers or producers. They are able to draw on this experience in the field in their teaching, placing the essential aspects of their experience at the heart of what they convey to their students.


FACULTY

Head of departement
Arnould Massart
arnould.massart@conservatoire.be

Meet the faculty



What is jazz?

The term jazz incorporates a range of different types of music and practices, spread through time and different places. It beginns with the styles at the start of the 20th century, and continues to evolve thanks to current developments in the scene. Along the way, jazz has absorbed influences from related music styles, which have contributed to extending its field of expression. 

Still today, it is evolving in different directions, along with the musicians who continue to bring the style to life.

This is the jazz which is taught at the Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles.

Method

Practice, practice, practice! Above all, it is practical experience of music which will allow the student to improve. Even in so-called "theoretical" subjects, practice and application are always at the heart of the work.  
All the subjects on offer are designed to help student develop tools - auditory, conceptual, technical and aesthetic - guiding them to gain skills and knowledge necessary to fulfill their potential as artists. Teachers also guide students so they cover a range of diverse repertoire and the different musical 'vocabularies' which go with these. There is a focus on swing and groove, as well as listening to each other. Students' creativity is encouraged in all situations. Musical experience is essential, and this is mostly provided through genuine performance experience, whether in student concerts, seminars, or the masterclasses organised regularly within the Conservatoire or elsewhere.

Discover a typical week
 


The teaching aims

  • enrich and refine students' musical abilities,
  • develop their ability to play individually and in groups,
  • help students, advise them, and guide them to realise personal projects so that they can develop and fulfill their creative potential,
  • train artists who have the skills and knowledge which allow them meet the demands of a career as an active musician, preparing students to deal with diverse professional situations ranging from improvisation, accompaniment, ensemble work, stage performance, writing, or work in the studio.

Jazz


Bienvenue dans le département jazz !

Créé en 1988, ce département est la seule école de jazz en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles qui délivre les diplômes de Bachelier (3 ans) et de Master (2 ans). Elle a compté parmi ses professeurs d’éminentes figures du jazz belge et international comme Bruno Castellucci, Steve Houben, Paolo Radoni, Charles Loos, Guy Cabay ou Jean-Louis Rassinfosse et continue d’être fière des remarquables personnalités qui la constituent.

Les vingt et un enseignants qui composent le département sont tous impliqués dans différents projets artistiques en Belgique et à l’étranger, où ils interviennent tantôt comme solistes, tantôt comme accompagnateurs, arrangeurs, compositeurs ou producteurs. C’est de cette réalité de terrain qu'ils tirent l’essentiel de leur expérience.  Et c'est cette expérience qu'ils transmettent prioritairement aux étudiants.


ÉQUIPE ENSEIGNANTE

Président du département
Arnould Massart
arnould.massart@conservatoire.be

Découvrez les enseignants



C’est quoi le jazz ?

Le terme jazz recouvre un ensemble de musiques et de pratiques étalé à la fois dans l’espace et dans le temps. Celui-ci commence avec les styles du début du XXe siècle et continue d’évoluer à travers ses développements actuels. En chemin, le jazz s’est nourri de musiques connexes, ce qui a contribué à l’extension de son champ d’expression. Aujourd’hui encore, il évolue dans des directions diverses au gré du parcours des musiciens qui le font vivre.
C’est ce jazz-là (ou ces jazz-là) qui est enseigné au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles.

La méthode

La pratique, la pratique, la pratique ! C’est avant tout par la pratique musicale que l’étudiant peut progresser. Même dans les matières dites "théoriques", c’est toujours la pratique que est mise en avant.
Toutes les matières enseignées ont pour but de donner aux étudiants les outils – auditifs, conceptuels, techniques et esthétiques – leur permettant d’acquérir les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires à leur épanouissement artistique. Les enseignants insistent sur l’intégration des divers répertoires et du vocabulaire qui les accompagne. L’accent est mis sur le swing et le groove, ainsi que sur l’écoute mutuelle. La créativité des étudiants est encouragée dans toutes les situations. L’expérience musicale est essentielle. Elle est largement favorisée par des mises en situation réelles telles que des concerts d’étudiants, des séminaires ou des masterclasses organisés régulièrement in situ ou hors les murs.

Découvrir une semaine type
 


Les objectifs pédagogiques

  • enrichir et affiner les aptitudes musicales des étudiants,
  • développer leur jeu instrumental individuel et collectif,
  • les aider, les conseiller et les orienter dans la mise en place de leurs projets personnels afin que puisse s’épanouir leur potentiel créatif,
  • former des artistes, dotés d’un bagage leur permettant de répondre aux exigences de la vie active de musicien, les préparer à gérer des situations professionnelles aussi diverses que l’improvisation, l’accompagnement, le jeu d’ensemble, la scène, l’écriture ou le travail en studio.